These Chakra Balancing Foods Are A Must Have!

chakra balancing

Chakra Balancing is a must-have in living a balanced happy life.

Chakra, the effervescent Sanskrit term that implies the ‘spinning wheel of energy’ tells you all about the powerful centers of spiritual energy in your body. Seven in all, each of these chakras are located at one of the major endocrine glands and are associated with a different body part.

For our body to function properly, each of these 7 chakras needs to work in perfect alignment, in their natural balance. However, it is our dietary intake that determines how well-aligned our chakras remain. When we deprive ourselves of a food group that feeds a particular chakra, it goes into a misalignment and leads to a spate of illnesses and health complications. Similarly, having a particular food group in excess will also push the specific chakra out of its original balance.

In the sections that follow, we’ll give you a detailed outline of the major chakra balancing foods and how to eat well to enhance the overall quality of your life.


Starting from your lower body, these 7 chakras go right up to your brain, with each carrying its own significance.

Read on for a detailed description of each of these, the role they play in ensuring the level of physical and mental health you have and most importantly, the right food to feed your chakras.

1. Root chakra (color – red)

Located at the base of your spine, it controls your physical vitality and survival instincts. The root chakra is said to facilitate movement within your body and dysfunction of this point can cause sciatica, lower back pain, depression, immune disorders and even rectal tumors.

Have more of proteins, root vegetables, minerals and above all, red-colored foods to feed your root chakra. Some examples are:

  • Potatoes
  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Eggs
  • Red meat
  • Hot paprika
  • Horseradish

2. Sacral chakra (color – orange)

Located below the navel and representing your creativity, sexuality and self-esteem, the sacral chakra dysfunction will present itself in the form of issues like sciatica, gynecological and libido problems or urinary complications.  Include the following sweet fruits, nuts and spices in your diet to feed your sacral chakra:

  • Strawberries
  • Mangos
  • Melons
  • Seeds
  • Nuts
  • Oranges
  • Coconut
  • Honey
  • Cinnamon
  • Sesame seeds

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (color – yellow)

Located above your navel, it is the prime controlling point of your emotional life. Consume foods such as grains, spices, dairy products as well as any yellow fruits and vegetable to feed this chakra. A few examples are:

  • Yellow bell pepper
  • Cheese
  • Yogurt
  • Mints
  • Ginger
  • Rice
  • Flax seed
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Lemon
  • Spearmint
  • Turmeric
  • Cumin
  • Fennel

4. Heart chakra (color – green)

Located in the heart, it is where your soul resides, controlling your emotions of tolerance, empathy and forgiveness. A dysfunction can lead to problems such as asthma, lung or breast cancer, heart problems, pneumonia and shoulder problems.

Some of the most helpful heart chakra foods include:

  • Spinach
  • Kale
  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • Squash
  • Cilantro
  • Parsley

5. Throat chakra (color – turquoise)

Located near the thyroid gland in the throat, it controls your powers of expression, communication and judgment and can cause problems like a sore throat, swollen glands, mouth ulcers, voice problems and laryngitis if it dysfunctions. Consume the following food groups to keep the essential functions of the throat chakra intact:

  • Soups
  • Sauces
  • Juices
  • Seaweed and nori
  • Fruits

6. Third eye chakra (color – indigo)

Located in the center of the brain, the ‘third eye’ manages your spiritual direction and wisdom. It has ailments like blindness, strokes, seizures and brain tumors as its most critical dysfunctions. You can have more of dark bluish colored fruits, liquids and fluids to feed your brow chakra, including the likes of:

  • Red grapes
  • Blueberries
  • Blackberries
  • Raspberries
  • Grape juice
  • Red wine
  • Poppy seed
  • Lavender
  • Mugwort

7. Crown chakra (color – purple)

The message of the crown chakra is purification and releasing the physical body from debris so that there is a better connection between body and soul. It is located at the crown of the head and balancing the inner and outer personality, it is considered as our direct link to God and can have depression, muscular problems and complications of the skeletal system as the major signs of its dysfunctions. Owing to its correlation with the universe and God, no particular food for crown chakra is advised. However, steps and techniques like fasting, detoxing  and herbal incense are suggested for the purpose of feeding your crown chakra.


The 7 chakras of the human body govern the circulation of energy and the related physical as well mental wellness within the entire system. You need to consume different kinds of food groups to feed your specific chakras. This can help in restoration of the original functions of these chakras and in turn cure any associated ailments. Now that you are aware of the importance of chakra balancing foods, make sure to add them to your diet.



Similar Posts